Chandra Mission
Mission Overview
Where's Chandra
Tracking Chandra
Top 10 Facts
Naming Chandra
Mission Milestones
Chandra Hardware
Telescope System
Science Instruments
Interactive Chandra
Chandra Specs
Who's Who
Web Shortcuts
Chandra Blog
RSS Feed
Email Newsletter
News & Noteworthy
Image Use Policy
Questions & Answers
Glossary of Terms
Download Guide
Get Adobe Reader

Who's Who at the Chandra X-Ray Center (CXC)


Patrick (Pat) Slane, Director (from 2020 – )
Dr. Patrick (Pat) Slane of the Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian (CfA) is the Director of the Chandra X-ray Center (CXC), which controls science and flight operations for NASA's Chandra X-ray Observatory. Dr. Slane succeeded Dr. Belinda Wilkes, who has served as the CXC Director since 2014, on September 28, 2020. Full Bio


Mark Weber

Associate Director for MIT

Claude Canizares

Flight Directors

Lead Flight Director & Mission Operations Manager:

Thomas Aldcroft

Deputy Flight Director(s):

Scott Wolk
Jan Vrtilek

Past Directors/Managers

Chandra Communications and Engagement

Kathleen Lestition, Coordinator
Kimberly Kowal Arcand, Visualization Scientist & Emerging Tech Lead


Peter Edmonds, Chandra Press Scientist
Megan Watzke, Public Affairs Specialist

Imaging & Digital

Kristin DiVona, Visualization Information Specialist
April Hobart, Video Specialist
Lisa Frattare, Imaging Specialist
Jason Major, Imaging Specialist
Khajag Mgrdichian, Senior Web Developer
Kayren Phillips, Senior Multimedia Developer
Aldo Solares, Administrative Support
Melissa Weiss, Illustrator
Kelly T.S. Williamson, Social Media/Web Developer
Nancy Wolk, Lead Imaging Specialist

NASA's Universe of Learning

Rutuparna Das, Astrophysicist, SAO
Terry Matilsky (Rutgers U.)
Donna Young (AAVSO)

Past Contributors

separator line

Contact Information